Packing Elves

“Our battered suitcases were piled on the sidewalk again; we had longer ways to go. But no matter, the road is life.” – Jack Kerouac

The packing elves came…and left.  Does it make me old to say that I remember the days that all international flyers automatically got two free suitcases with a 70 lb. weight limit?  Well, I miss those days.  But in those days, I probably also wouldn’t be flying to Italy to spend 4 months living in a convent and studying medieval and Renaissance history in the heart of where it all happened.  So I guess it’s kind of a fair trade-off.

Much to my great chagrin, I think I’m going to have a cave and bring a second (although moderately small) duffel.  Bear in mind, I still take great pride in my packing skills.  I could actually fit everything that I really wanted/needed into the one large suitcase that I was hoping to use.  Unfortunately, the suitcase also weighed 70 pounds.  Bummer.  I’ve come to the conclusion that packing elves can come and make things fit into smaller spaces, but they cannot, in fact, make things weigh less.  I guess its the law of the conservation of mass or something that prevents that from happening.  But I’m not a physics major.

The upside (?) is that hopefully I can get a discount on my second bag for checking in on-line.  Of course, they didn’t tell me how much the discount actually was, so maybe it’s only about 5 dollars off, but we’ll find out.  Hopefully I can make it through the airport carrying both bags.

Flying out tomorrow morning.  Pray that I get to the airport on time and the flight is not delayed due to rain.  The next time you hear from me will be in the beautiful land of Italia.

Leave a Reply

