It’s Never Too Late

Conscience keeps more people awake than coffee.  ~Author Unknown

You’d think that with a title like that, this would be a very profound and deep post.  You can throw those assumptions out of the window right now.  Today, I realized that it was never too late to have my first Italian cappuccino.  Well, I guess it would’ve been too late if I was no longer in Italy.  But as long as I’m still here, what difference does it make whether that cappuccino is in the fourth day of the semester or the fourth month?  In this case, it was the latter.  And I wasn’t the only one who had postponed their cappuccino tasting.  Two of my friends and I stopped at Bar San Paolo to have our first cappuccinos of the semester.

I typically stay away from coffee.  I drink Coca-Cola for my caffeine fix.  But I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by Italian coffee.  I should not have doubted this, given the fact that all food in Italy usually tastes better, and since it was made creamy by foamed milk and sweetened by a packet of sugar, it was actually enjoyable.  Not that I’d want to get obsessed with cappuccini–if that had been the case, I would be much poorer at the end of this semester–but I feel like my Italian experience has truly reached completion with the taste of coffee in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

