Archival Wonders

I unpacked my room last night.  It didn’t seem to take nearly as long as it did last year.  I can’t believe how much stuff I own (but that’s a blog for another time).  As I got to the last tupperware that I’d pulled out from storage, I couldn’t help but wonder what else I had that I hadn’t unpacked yet?  It seemed that I’d already found everything that I wanted.

Then I got to the bottom, and I remembered: my books.  My mini-library.  Packed carefully in the bottom of a giant sterilite container.  I pulled my books out one by one.  Some of them I smiled at more than others.  They each had a memory attached to them, whether it was a paper I had to write about them, or a discussion I’d led from them, or a test I’d had to take over them.  They were all valuable to me in some way.

And so I keep all of them.  In my entire college career, I may have sold back a total of maybe 3 college textbooks.  Why?  To me, textbooks are knowledge.  They encapsulate what I’ve learned in a course, and are a tangible why that I can see that I’ve absorbed material.  I had to set up another shelf just for my books.

Maybe I’m old fashioned in my love for books.  Especially with everything online today.  But I think that there’s a value in books that is slowly becoming obsolete.  May we never lose libraries that have volumes upon volumes of old, dusty books.  And may we never lose the concept of curling up with a cup of tea and a good book by a fire on a rainy afternoon.

2 thoughts on “Archival Wonders

  1. Rebecca says:

    Ah yes, you and your books. From the sagging shelf in Evans to the weighed town rubbermaid in the apartment 😉
    I agree though. I hope we never lose the pleasure of sitting down with a real book in our hands or browsing the shelves of a library. I sat down with a book on today’s rainy afternoon. (No fire though)

  2. Rebecca says:

    And by town I meant down. … I’m now trying to picture a weighed town rubbermaid…perhaps as opposed to a light rural one? 😉

Leave a Reply

