Annunciation

Finals are over.  Finals themselves for me were not super intense…it was everything else that I had to do with them that made the week a little crazy, but it was still very manageable.  I think back to my first fall semester as a college student.  I only had one in class exam.  Ironically, I concluded my final fall semester with one in class exam as well.  Not to say I didn’t have a lot to do between my 23 page paper, my 12 lesson cohesive unit, dorm close down, packing and cleaning, baking cookies and other yummy things, but all in all, my work from during the semester paid off magnificently.

I am now on my way down the east coast before eventually making it to the airport and flying to Taiwan.  Hopefully more posts about cultural interactions will begin to frequent my blog’s home page.  My goals for Christmas break include reading (historical fiction, Plutarch, and Jean Vanier have all made it on my reading list for break), cross-stitching, journaling, job searching, writing, crafting, and eating as many dan bings and drinking yang le duo liu cha’s as possible before I return to the states for student teaching.

As Christmas approaches, I thought I’d share some of my favorite Renaissance art pieces related to the season…many of them I got to see in Italy, during which I grew to appreciate them more.

The first on is Fra Angelico’s Annunciation, from Museo San Marco in Florence:

Pictures of this fresco can’t really capture the mica that Fra Angelico inlaid into the wings of the angel, which is just gorgeous.  San Marco used to be a monastery, but has since been turned into a museum.  When it was inhabited by monks, Fra Angelico painted frescoes in each of the cells.  It’s pretty much the only thing in the cell.

One of the cool pieces of symbolism in this painting comes from the small figures in the upper left-hand corner.  I’ll bet you missed them at first.  That’s Adam and Eve being expelled from the Garden of Eden.  Their presence in the corner reminds the viewer of how Mary’s conception of Christ began the process of reversing the covenant that was broken there.

Leave a Reply

