Coffee is Vile…but Oreos…

I think I may have found my source of energy.  Most Americans turn to coffee when they find themselves at a loss for energy.  They say that coffee gives you the boost you need to make it through the day.

I tried that once.  My hands got so jittery I could hardly hold anything.  I decided that I would stick with Coca-Cola for my caffeine boost.  And green tea.  My students thought I was crazy.

But I think I may have found a secret weapon.  On Saturday I sat down and banged out twenty-pages worth of papers in ten hours.  That’s right folks, twenty pages in ten hours.  I’m not sure whether I should be proud or concerned that they are probably ripe with typos.

As I looked up from my computer at 11 PM on Saturday, I turned to my roommate.  “I just wrote a six page paper in an hour,” I said in befuddlement.

She snorted.  “What did you eat this morning?”

“I have no idea.”  Then I reached for a bag of Oreos.  “Well, I had a whole row of this package between last night and now,” I confessed.

“There you go,” she said.  “You should eat Oreos more often.”

Too bad Oreos are more expensive than green tea.

Leave a Reply

