Small Town NC

As I’ve moved to small town North Carolina, I’ve definitely fallen in love the area.  I use the term “move” lightly, given the fact that I still don’t have a house and my worldly possessions are still crammed in my car.  Hopefully that will change soon.

It’s been fun to get to know the town.  In some ways, it reminds me a little bit of Orvieto…loosely.  In this case, I can speak the language.  There’s no massive Duomo in the center of town, but there is an element of the town’s history that is more alive than other places I’ve seen in the northeast.  These people know who they are.

I’ve also come to realize that I’m something of an oddity to the people here.  And after talking to them, I’m starting to understand why.  I’m someone who went from Taiwan to Massachusetts to North Carolina.  Why?  Because I wanted to.  Because I could.  Because I thought NC sounded like a cool state to live in.

And after people hear about how I went from one side of the world to the other and then down to the South, they still can’t quite see why.  And I’m starting to understand why that’s so bizarre for them.  I guess globalization takes different forms in different parts of the world.  For me, globalization implies an ability to connect parts of the world not just through technology, but through actually going there and physically being a part of other places.  For other people, globalization is more just an access to more information and an awareness, not necessarily the fluidity of travel.

Even so, I still love the small town.  Again, throwback to Orvieto days.

One thought on “Small Town NC

  1. mysticalilha says:

    so true! thanks for putting it into those words. I hadn’t thought about the different views of “globalization” in quite that way before and your explanation puts into words something I was having difficulty expressing, even to myself.

Leave a Reply

