Technological Trauma

There are many things I have thoughts to blog about from this week.  I could be blogging about backwards planning, I could be blogging about how education makes me angrier than about anything else in the world, I could be blogging about the lack of community that I see leading to so many of the other problems in education.  But I think I’ll avoid education tonight and nail technology instead:

I’m slowly developing a deep resentment toward the smart phone.  Over the past four months, part of me has genuinely thought it would be nice to own a smart phone…with a data plan.  For those obnoxious days when the internet at school and the internet at home don’t work.  When I want to look up a quick fact online and don’t have my computer.

But then I hang out with people who have smart phones and I remember why they aggravate me to no end.  And it’s not even students on their phones, although that is annoying.  It’s the role that phones have come to have in social circles.  Here’s what end up happening in those situations:

Few moments of conversation.  Followed by brief pause.  Followed by 75% of the people in the group pulling out their phones to check facebook/instagram/text messages/photos.  Followed by no more conversation.  Brief conversation restarts.  Back to the phone.

Folks, when everyone’s done eating and the check has been paid, and there isn’t anyone actually saying anything to each other and instead people are sitting around the table staring at smart phones, it’s time to leave the restaurant.

Maybe I’m just an anomaly of my generation in not wanting the world to revolve around technology.  But really, it seems as though smart phones have become another tool for young people to avoid building an actual community with each other.  They’re another form of escape, another wall to hide beyond because no one actually wants to have a deep enough conversation that might put you outside of your comfort zone.  Or because it’s preferable to get away from the world you live in because you just don’t like it.  When you look back on life, do you really want your memory to be everyone sitting around the Christmas tree texting on their phones?  I think not.

Leave a Reply

