Ten Ways

It snowed today in North Carolina!  I think by now it’s turned to sleet.  There are maybe two inches.  Although I did have to dust off my car after I came out of the coffee shop.

Life pretty much stopped for small town NC.  School got out at noon.  I think I’ve gotten more time off from school for weather conditions in NC than I ever did in Massachusetts.

There’s something about snow that always makes me childish-ly excited.  I’m not quite sure what.  Maybe because it reminds me of Christmas and Christmas is always great.  Maybe it’s because it’s just one of those things that I always saw in movies and never had growing up.  Somehow snow always seems magical.

So sitting inside with a layer of snow outside and hot tea, I think it’s time for my token “10 ways to know you live in ___________ ” post.  This time, of course, being “10 ways to know you live in small town NC”:

1. Everything stops when it starts snowing.  Even before it starts snowing–when anyone thinks there’s going to be snow, life stops.

2. Everything closes at 5 or 5:30 PM.  There is also nothing open on Sundays.

3. The theater has 2 screens in it.

4. There are no chain restaurants in town besides a few fast food places.  Starbucks? No.  Denny’s? No.  Olive Garden?  No. Applebee’s? No.  You name it–nope, we don’t have it.  But that’s okay, because (1) there’s a Wendy’s in town, and (2) we have other great restaurants and coffee shops.

5. The closest Walmart is a 1/2 hour drive away.  Target?  Go to another state.

6. When you’re out in town, you get excited to see other people who are single and younger than 30 because you forgot that there’s anyone besides you who fits that category living in town.

7. The streets make nice square blocks all over town.

8. There are churches on every other street corner.  Almost as many churches as there were temples in Taiwan.  The church bells ring a hymn promptly at 5:50 PM every day.

9. All of the streets begin with either “North”, “South”, “East”, or “West”.

10. There’s a Confederate soldier memorial down by the water…facing North just in case the North invades again.  [Ironically, they are showing Lincoln in the town’s theater.]

And that, my friends, is my adorable town.

Leave a Reply

