With the Horses

This past week at camp I got to spend assisting with Equestrian Camp.  When I was little, I loved horses, but living in a city in Asia didn’t really lend itself to learning to ride…nor was it really affordable.  Which is why I was very excited to be able to work with the horses this summer. 

I learned a lot of things this week.  I learned that I don’t really know too much about horses.  I learned that I’m really not that good at riding, especially when I haven’t been on in two years.  I enjoy it a lot, but really have to work at it and think about it, especially when it comes to posting.  I know I look like a fool, but I still love them.

I’ve decided I think it’s probably good that I’m not actually that good at riding…at least right now.  A lot of times growing up, I learned to play to my strengths.  In school, I typically took classes I knew I would be good at–history and english.  In sports, I tried out for the sports I was familiar with so knew I would at least get on the team.  

So when it comes to riding, I actually have to put so much more effort into learning and paying attention to what I’m doing.  Even though it’s frustrating at times, I feel like I’m learning more about what it means to actually learn instead of getting around something I’m already good at, which will serve me better in the long run.

Leave a Reply

